A vibrant and diverse evangelical Christian community.

‘By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established’  Proverbs 24:3

Cranmer Hall, St John’s College,

3 South Bailey, Durham DH1 3RJ


Durham University

Durham University is distinctive – a residential collegiate university with long traditions and modern values. We seek the highest distinction in research and scholarship and are committed to excellence in all aspects of education and transmission of knowledge. Our research and scholarship affect every continent. We are proud to be an international scholarly community which reflects the ambitions of cultures from around the world. We promote individual participation, providing a rounded education in which students, staff and alumni gain both the academic and the personal skills required to flourish.

Durham University has continued to cement its position as one of the world’s leading universities, with significant rankings in major league tables shown here

St John’s College

St. John’s College was founded in 1909 as a theological college for the training of Anglican ordinands and matriculated five students. It was not until 1919 that it became a full constituent college of the university. It expanded in and flourished over the following decades until, in 1958, Cranmer Hall was established as a “distinct but integral part of the college”.

St. John’s has always been progressive and inclusive in its outlook and, in 1966, became the first Church of England theological college to train men and women together. This trend continued, and John’s became the first college in the entirety of Durham University to become co-educational, in 1973. The logical culmination of this egalitarian attitude came in 1978 with the appointment of Ruth Etchells as Principal.

The college has continued to go from strength to strength and, after an extensive program of building and refurbishment, is now home to a family of roughly 500 undergraduates and 150 postgraduates as well as 80 members of Cranmer Hall.

College Council

College Council members can be viewed here

Cranmer Committee

Cranmer Committee is a sub-committee of St. John’s College Council. The Chair of Cranmer Committee is Bishop Libby Lane, Bishop of Derby. Cranmer Committee is comprised of both clergy and laypersons, who are responsible for overall policy.


The Rt Revd Libby Lane (Chair)
Dr Jamie Harrison (Vice Chair)
The Revd Dr David Wilkinson (Principal, St John’s College)
The Revd Canon Smitha Prasadam
Christopher Courtman (Director of Finance & Operations)
Revd Dr Nick Moore (Academic Dean)
Revd Mark Miller (Local Clergy Rep)
Andrew McAllister (CCR President)
James Bartle (Ordinands Association Rep)
Prof Robert Song (Theology Department Rep)
Revd Caroline Friend (Free Church Rep)
Ven Rick Simpson (Diocesan Rep)